Unikatschmuck

A few words about me

Picture of me and curriculum vitae

Charlotte Edtmayer-Scheibe

I was born in 1966 in Neumarkt am Wallersee (near Salzburg, Austria). After having finished my apprenticeship as gold- and silversmith in Austria, I moved to New York City and initially worked there for one of the most well-known jewellers of 5th Avenue. Later, I went into business for myself and worked out of my 47th Street studio.

After 11 years in New York, I moved back to Austria in 1997 and took the examination for the master craftsman's certificate. Following that, I established my own company; by today, I design and manufacture jewellery in Austria since 2001. Usually, my customers are involved in the development of a piece of jewellry - the design „grows“ in the personal dialog with the client.

For me, this individuality is especially important when creating wedding bands. I really like to develop a pair of rings together with a bridal couple by taking up their ideas and transform them into a unique design.

I also like to integrate colourful gemstones into my creations. This does not only include the well-known colours like ruby, sapphire etc. but also stones like the richly coloured Boulder opals and other unusually coloured gemstones.

Another speciality of mine are technically highly sophisticated pieces like hand-crafted chains which are done after antique patterns. Currently, I am deeply involved with Mokume Gane (translates to „wood-grained metal“), an ancient japanese technique from the 17th century which needs very profound artistic and technical knowledge. These pieces of jewellery cannot be reproduced and thus emphasize their wearer's individuality by their uniqueness.

Finally, I also do work on jewellery like repairs, cleaning or rework. Especially high-valued pieces should be checked from time to time to identify minor damages before they become irreversible or may even lead to losing a precious gemstone.

1966 Born in Neumarkt am Wallersee near Salzburg, Austria
1982 Apprenticeship as gold- and silversmith
Final examination
1986 Moved to New York City (USA)
1987 Jewellery studio "VARUJAN", located at the well-known "47th Street-Diamond and Jewelry Way" in Manhattan
1988 From March, working for "C.G. Creations" at 47th Street
Production of precious single pieces from 18K gold, platinum, diamonds and top-class gemstones exclusively for the prestigious jewellery store "VERDURA" on "5th Avenue"
1990 Manufacturing of own creations
Exhibition in the gallery "An American Craftsman" in Greenwich Village, New York
1992 Realisation of new ideas
Exhibition in the "Wheeler/Seidel Gallery" in SOHO, New York
1995 Established own company in April
Mainly individual single pieces for private clients
1997 Moved back to Austria in September
1999 Examination for the master craftsman's certificate
Presentation in "Kunsthistorisches Museum-Wien" (Art historical museum in Vienna)
2001 Exhibition at the local Neumarkt trade fair
"Creativ" - Fair Salzburg
2002 Exhibition in the Casino Salzburg
Bridal fair Schloß Sighartstein
Exhibition Kiwanis-Klub-Event
2003-2006 Bridal fair Schloß Mondsee
2004 Exhibition in the "Fronfeste Neumarkt" together with Gunar Streu, Photography
Trade fair Köstendorf
2005 Participant of the 1st competition of goldsmiths from Salzburg
2006 Bridal fair Schloß Aurolzmünster
2007-2015 Bridal fair Kavalierhaus Klessheim (Salzburg)
2013 Exhibition in the "Fronfeste Neumarkt" together with Ingo Keich (Lamps and Upholstery)

Unikatschmuck

Ein paar Worte ├╝ber mich

Bild von mir und Beschreibung meines Werdegangs

Charlotte Edtmayer-Scheibe

Ich wurde 1966 in Neumarkt am Wallersee geboren. Nach meiner Ausbildung zur Gold-und Silberschmiedin in Österreich zog ich nach New York und war dort zunächst für angesehene Juweliere der bekannten 5th Avenue tätig. Später übte ich meinen Beruf in New York selbständig aus.

Im Jahr 1997 zog ich dann nach elfjährigem Aufenthalt in den USA zurück nach Österreich und legte dort die Meisterprüfung ab. Später folgte die Firmengründung in Österreich; mittlerweile fertige ich seit 2001 in eigener Firma Schmuckstücke nach meinen Entwürfen an. Die jeweiligen Kunden werden in die Entstehung der Stücke meist mit einbezogen, der Entwurf "wächst" im persönlichen Gespräch mit dem Klienten.

Diese Individualität ist mir insbesondere auch bei der Anfertigung von Eheringen wichtig. Auch hier erarbeite ich zusammen mit dem Brautpaar einen Entwurf, der für dieses Paar "maßgeschneidert" ist. Eine Auswahl meiner Schmuckstücke ist auf verschiedenen Ausstellungen und auf Hochzeitsmessen zu bewundern.

In meine Kreationen integriere ich auch gerne Edelsteine, die nicht allerorts zu sehen sind. Insbesondere biete ich eine breite Farbpalette an, die sich nicht auf die allseits bekannten Edelsteinfarben beschränkt. Ein beliebter Stein ist zum Beispiel der Boulder-Opal, der durch sein reichhaltiges Farbspiel besticht.

Auch handwerklich sind meine Arbeiten ausgefallen, so kommen etwa nach antikem Vorbild handgefertigte Ketten zum Einsatz. Aktuell widme ich mich einer alten japanischen Schmucktechnik, dem so genannten Mokume Gane (übersetzt als „holzgemasertes Metall“). Dieses Verfahren stammt aus dem 17. Jahrhundert und erfordert sehr hohe handwerkliche und gestalterische Fähigkeiten. Es ergeben sich Schmuckstücke, die nicht reproduzierbar sind und durch ihre Einzigartigkeit immer auch die Individualität ihres Trägers unterstreichen.

Natürlich führe ich auch Arbeiten an Schmuck aus, der nicht von mir gefertigt wurde, beispielsweise Reparaturen, Reinigung und auch Umarbeitungen. Gerade hochwertiger Schmuck sollte von Zeit zu Zeit überprüft werden, damit kleine Beschädigungen erkannt werden, bevor ein Stück nicht mehr reparabel ist oder gar ein teurer Stein verloren geht.

1966 Geboren in Neumarkt am Wallersee bei Salzburg
1982 Ausbildung zur Gold- und Silberschmiedin
Lehrabschlußprüfung
1986 Ab Oktober in New York (USA)
1987 Juwelier-Atelier "VARUJAN" an der weltbekannten "47th Street-Diamond and Jewelry Way" in Manhattan
1988 Ab März bei "C.G. Creations" an der 47th Street
Fertigung edler Einzelstücke aus 750 Gold, Platin, Brillanten und hochkarätigen Edelsteinen ausschließlich für den angesehenen Juwelier "VERDURA" der "5th Avenue"
1990 Ausführung eigener Kreationen
Ausstellung in der Galerie "An American Craftsman" in Greenwich Village in New York
1992 Verwirklichung neu entstandener Ideen
Ausstellung in der "Wheeler/Seidel Gallery" in SOHO, New York
1995 Ab April selbständig
Fast ausschließlich individuelle Einzelstücke für Privatklienten
1997 Rückkehr nach Österreich im September
1999 Meisterprüfung
Präsentation im Kunsthistorischen Museum-Wien
2001 Teilnahme an der Gewerbemesse Neumarkt
"Creativ" - Messe Salzburg
2002 Ausstellung im Casino Salzburg
Hochzeitsmesse Schloß Sighartstein
Ausstellung Kiwanis-Klub-Event
2003-2006 Hochzeitswelt Schloß Mondsee
2004 Ausstellung in der Fronfeste Neumarkt gemeinsam mit Gunar Streu, Fotografie
Gewerbemesse Köstendorf
2005 Teilnahme 1. Salzburger Goldschmiedewettbewerb
2006 Hochzeitswelt Schloß Aurolzmünster
2007-2015 Hochzeitswelt Kavalierhaus Klessheim (Salzburg)
2013 Ausstellung in der Fronfeste Neumarkt gemeinsam mit Ingo Keich (Lampen und Polstermöbel)